The end of summer

It’s the end of summer. I’m heading back to the UK in 3 days. 

It’s been a good summer. Though I couldn’t find any work (and I do believe I could have tried much much harder), I believe it’s been a spiritually productive summer.

In the event I did not find work, I drew up a rather sizeable reading list, which you can see on the adjoining page. I’ve all but finished 3 books. I suppose I could leave one to the plane ride to the UK, one for leisure reading and one for my daily devotions. Given the nature of the remaining 3 books, they will most likely be God’s Passion for His Glory, Miracles and Holiness respectively.

But these books have given me quite a bit to think about. And that’s not taking into account the thousands of internet articles I have probably read the whole summer. I’ve wanted to write an article or two on occasion to express some of these thoughts, and I’ve often started on many, but I’ve finished few. And that’s the funny thing about the Christian life isn’t it? The more you learn about God, the less you know! You attempt to flesh out some of your thoughts but in the process realise that there is still so much you need to think about.

Regardless, if time permits in the new term, I’ll try to work out some of these thoughts. And also, I’ll probably get round to completing the reviews for my summer reading list. In the meantime, I’m going to try to make the most of my time left here. Though I’ll be back in two months, food in Britian is terrible – or terribly expensive.

Leave a Reply

