I am making everything new!

Revelation 21:5

He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

Some thoughts for the new year

As we usher in the new year today, I recalled setting myself 8 resolutions in 2008. Not everything went as well as I wished. This only serves to reflect  our faithlessness. Yet we have a faithful God, who says “I am making everything new!” And to this He adds, “These words are trustworthy and true.” It is a promise we can trust in for the new year. Don’t live in the guilt of the past, but turn to the one who makes everything new, who restores the soul, redeems our heart, renews our mind and our strength.

2008 was a blessed year. It is with much gratefulness that I look back on my first year at university. It has been the most fruitful time of my life, yet I’ve suffered my fair share of setbacks. As I look forward to the coming year, I only set myself 2 goals. To be diligent in meeting God in His word, and to fight with all my might in prayer. If 2008 has taught me one thing, it is that God’s people are most fruitful when they abide in Christ, and I am convinced that the only way to abide in Christ is to abide in His word, and in faithful prayer with Him. If we can get these two things right, many battles can be won for the cause of Christ.

Finally, I pray that this will be the attitude of my heart throughout the year:

The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.  – Job 1:21 (ESV)

Soli deo gloria!

Leave a Reply

